Herriot Melhuish O’Neill Architects - Wellington, Christchurch, Auckland, Tauranga

HMOA directors Max Herriot (Wellington studio), John Melhuish (Wellington & Tauranga), Duval O’Neill (Christchurch), Matt Pearson and Matt Robinson (Auckland) lead a team of highly skilled registered architects and architectural graduates. 

All directors are advocates for their industry and a better-built environment in New Zealand, regularly serving on awards juries and industry boards. John has been honoured as a Fellow of the Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects (NZIA)

We recognise the importance of sustainable design, belong to the New Zealand Green Building Council and are Homestar accredited. Our studios in Wellington, Christchurch, Auckland and Tauranga work across both commercial and residential projects.


HMOA is experienced in the education, recreation, film, heritage, health and hospitality sectors, multi-unit developments, civil projects, commercial interiors, earthquake strengthening and master planning.

We believe enduring architecture is a delicate balance of factors – our client’s needs and aspirations, our professional training and expertise, the history and nature of the site, the need for sustainable design – but also intuition and commonsense. Every design decision matters.

Get in touch about your project.


Discover a list of our NZIA award-winning projects.


Herriot Melhuish O’Neill Architects was founded in 1997 by Max Herriot and John Melhuish as Herriot + Melhuish Architecture. Read about our 25th birthday.

Duval O'Neill became a director in 2007, Matt Pearson in 2016 and Matt Robinson in 2022.


HMOA donates annually to the following charitable organisations:

Wellington City Mission

Auckland City Mission

RAD bikes


Trees That Count 

Orange Sky